Creating a Shaker Element Tutorial

Just crawling out of hibernation. I’ve been a little busy with stuff and the time just flew by. I thought I had this post scheduled but it didn’t post. So here is my tutorial for simple shaker cards.  I made some shaker cards last month and thought it would be fun to share the steps with everyone.

First, lets get all the materials ready.

 photo Tutorial_ShakerCard4_zpsimonowln.jpgYou will need:

a. Pattern paper for the top frame of your shaker

b. Chipboard

c. Base image for the shaker

d. Clear acetate

e. Glitter or Sequins

Steps:

1. PIck an image from your patterned paper for the base image. For this project I choose this lovely image from RRBF’s My Romance line.

2. Cut the chipboard, acetate and top frame to the same size as your base image.

3. Leaving a 0.5″ to 0.75″ border, cut out the middle sections of your chipboard and top frame just like the picture above.

4. Make a sandwich with the base image at the bottom, followed by the chipboard frame, acetate and top frame. Check that all layers align correctly before we start gluing the shaker together. I use a wet glue for this project as it allowed me to move the pieces around a little before everything bonded together.

Here is a video showing how the layers should be assembled. Do excuse the quality of the video. It’s my very first attempt at a video.

Here is the card all assembled:

 photo JuneGoh_Tutorial_ShakerCard_zpsex4fpo8y.jpg

Don’t you like the shake shake shake fun.

Cheers,

 

-JuneGoh

Leave a Reply

