Altered Canvas

Here is a quick and simple weekend project to use up your left over chipboard numbers and letters. First, I glued them randomly on my canvas. Next, I covered them with some gesso which helps to cover up the colors of chipboard letters and make them easier to paint over. For this project I used an orange/yellow combination as requested by my son as it was a name plague for his room door. Remember to plan before you start else you might have to try and stamp your images on to the canvas after your letter chipboards have been glued on. Trust me, that’s what happened to me.

Photobucket

I inked the edges of the chipboard letters as I wanted to add more dimension to it but you can always leave them alone so they merge with the background.

Photobucket

I added some left-over rub-ons and the cute owl cut-out. The paint splatter was added at the end as I felt it was too yellow and needed more color. Of course when I first started on this project I was hoping to use up lots of letters but I only managed to finish up 1 left-over packet of letters. So there are lots more let in my stash to be used up.

Do you have any ideas that will use these chipboard letters up ? Do share with me.

Supplies:
Chipboard Heidi Swapp, Cosmo Cricket
Paper – TPC Studio
Others – Stretched Canvas

7 thoughts on “Altered Canvas

  1. Now I really know who to ask if i need any decorative stuff in small amounts 😉
    Maybe u can repacket them and sell to me when I need them hehehe

  2. Erm, now no need yet, but when I need them in small amounts, I can check to see if you have excess first instead of going around fretting 🙂 TQ.

Leave a Reply

